Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 28

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Dates: 1841-1861
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...
Dates: 1772-1929; Majority of material found in 1852-1875
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Dates: 1960-1990
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Capital Club of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.09
Scope and Contents

Records of the Capital Club of Williamsburg (formerly named the Middle Plantation Club of Williamsburg), which was founded by Rawls Byrd in 1966. The collection includes organizational histories, membership directories and rosters, meeting minutes, scrapbooks of club events, and other material.

Dates: 1960-2019; Majority of material found in 1970-2000
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Coleman-Wilson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Dates: 1775-1989; Majority of material found in 1883-1964
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mr. and Mrs. Hibbert D. Corey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.43-2
Scope and Contents Papers of Professor H.D. Corey, formerly economics professor at the College of William and Mary and of his wife, an active member of the Williamsburg Garden Club. Includes typescript of "American Foreign Trade Zone Policy and its Application to Hampton Roads" by Hibbert D. Corey, August 1930 and a "Rose Test Notes" scrapbook and related papers from the Williamsburg Garden Club, 1947-1957. Publications include "National Geographic" October 1954 issue,"Williamsburg: Its College and...
Dates: 1930-1958
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

The collection contains papers documenting the lives of the Fay Parr family. The collection also includes Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia. Other materials contained in the collection includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents as well as buildings, newspaper clippings of events in Williamsburg, Virginia as well as publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Dates: 1920-2002
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mary Ware Galt Memory Book

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00148
Scope and Contents

Memory Book of Mary Ware Galt of Williamsburg containing memorabilia, programs, photographs, souvenirs, correspondence, and ephemera from Williamsburg, Virginia and the Tidewater area, plus from her days as a student at Hampton College (1908-1909) in Hampton, Virginia and Stuart Hall (1909-1910) in Staunton, Virginia.

Dates: 1904-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Galt Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates: 1745-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Herbert L. Ganter Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 G15
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, clippings, photographs, publications, and other material collected by Herbert Ganter, W&M Class of 1927 and Archivist of the College of William & Mary from 1948-1974. Included in the collection are correspondence, photographs, and journals written by and collected by Ganter while a student at William and Mary, correspondence and clippings about information from Swem Library's holdings while Ganter was College Archivist, and correspondence...
Dates: circa 1883-1979; Majority of material found within 1915-1965
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00398
Scope and Contents

Annual scrapbooks, garden and home tour brochures and schedules, membership lists, slides and business records documenting the Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., located in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1956-2022
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Christine Henderson Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00610
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook of Christine Henderson, class of 1924, Williamsburg High School. Memorabilia includes original photographs.

Dates: 1920-1924
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sarah R. Houghland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.254
Scope and Contents

This collection contains clippings, drawings, and other material related to the guide book In and Around Williamsburg With Children written by Sarah R. Houghland, as well as clippings and correspondence concerning Houghland's work with the League of Women Voters in organizing the 1976 Presidential Debate between Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1976-1980
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Luther Kibler Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ad84-97, Ad97A - 97B
Scope and Contents James Luther Kibler was a historian, author, newspaper correspondent and secretary of the Socialist Party in Virginia. Scrapbooks, ca. 1920-ca. 1940, of James Luther Kibler, of Williamsburg, Va. Scrapbooks contains newspaper clippings of current events pasted onto magazine pages, mostly concerning Virginia and the history of the Williamsburg area. Includes some handwritten and typed notes as well as loose mimeographed copies of radio talks, 1942, given by Elwood Street, Director,...
Dates: circa 1920-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Julia W. Oxrieder Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.46
Scope and Contents

The personal papers of Julia W. Oxrieder include materials related to Williamsburg, Virginia, documents of interest she collected related to her many interests, and personal material about her life and work in Williamsburg. Many items are copies of biographies, newspaper articles, and ephemera documenting local history including folklore, education, Williamsburg people and organizations, African Americans, and other topics.

Dates: 1877-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles and William Person Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.207
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, photographs, scrapbooks and other material related to the Person, Hickman, and Walton families. The bulk of the collection contains material related to Charles and William Person. Included are photographs of family members and the trips they took including to the York River, scrapbooks of the Person-Walton family and scenes from the Newport News Naval Yards, and an oral history conducted with William Person describing Williamsburg, Virginia in the first half...
Dates: circa 1900-2011; Majority of material found in 1920-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas E. Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material.  Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940.  He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944.  His first...
Dates: 1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Stryker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.37A
Scope and Contents

Material about and by Mayor Henry Stryker and Colonial Williamsburg hostess Fannie Stryker including reminiscences of Mrs. Stryker, photographic album on Mayor Stryker's retirement, scrapbook, 1957, of Jamestown Festival and visit of Queen Elizabeth. Mss. Acc. 1989.37a

Dates: 1916-1977
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 U9
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.

Dates: 1890-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Wedgewood Playhouse Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.056
Scope and Contents Contains photographs, programs, scrapbooks, and other material concerning the Wedgewood Playhouse based in Toano, Virginia, located just west of Williamsburg, Virginia. Included in the records are negative and print photographs of various productions at the theater from 1963-1969; programs from productions in the 1960s; a scrapbook of clippings, photographs, and letters from the theater's 1963-1964 season; and ledger books containing the financial records of the theater from 1965-1971. More...
Dates: 1962-1971, 1999; Majority of material found within 1963-1971
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.09
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, programs, photographs and minutes of the Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1961-2011; Majority of material found in 1975-1990
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Scrapbooks X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 22
Photographs 17
Correspondence 12
Clippings (information artifacts) 8
Minutes 8
∨ more
Programs 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 7
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
Diaries 5
Notebooks 5
Pamphlets 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Certificates 4
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 4
Financial records 4
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Women--Societies and clubs 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 3
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 3
Newspapers 3
Printed ephemera 3
Reports 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Women--Education--Virginia 3
Account books 2
Books 2
Christmas cards 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Gardening--History--20th century 2
Gardening--Virginia 2
Invitations 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Legal documents 2
Mentally ill--Care 2
Negatives 2
Oral histories 2
Postcards 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Art centers 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Bibles 1
Birthday cards 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Business records 1
Calendars 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Cartoons 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Charities--Virginia--Richmond 1
Church bulletins 1
Church records and registers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
College theater--United States 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Daybooks 1
Dinner theater 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Essays 1
Europe--Description and travel--20th century 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Laboratory notebooks 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
League of Women Voters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Letter books 1
Membership lists 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 5
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Oxrieder, Julia W. 2
∨ more
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Alexandria gazette 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Begg family 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bozarth family 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Coleman family 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Davison, Alida Wilson 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Dula family 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Galt family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Ganter, Herbert Lawrence, 1904-1980 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Green Spring Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Haldane, Isabella 1
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 1
Harris family 1
Hickman family 1
Hofheimer family 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Letters for Peace 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Markova, Ida 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Marshall, Marie 1
Mendenhall family 1
Moton, Elizabeth Harris 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Parr, Fay Lyonel, 1913-2008 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Person, William (1903-1980) 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Smith, Israel, Jr 1
Stuart Hall (Staunton, Va.) 1
Swartout, Samuel, 1804-1867 1
Tucker 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg (Va.) Chapter 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg Chapter 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States George Washington Bicentennial Commission 1
University of Virginia 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Gazette 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Walton family 1
Washington, George, 1732-1799 1
Wedgewood Playhouse (Toano, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Catholic Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 1
Wilson, James Southall 1
+ ∧ less